Previous award winners

Short-term Postdoctoral Research Grants 2021

The following scholars received short-term postdoctoral research grants in 2021–22:

(April 2022)

  • Alexios Stamatiadis-Bréhier (University of Leeds)
  • Alfonso García-Lapeña (University of Barcelona)
  • William Hornett (University of Sheffield)
  • Eugenia Lancellotta (University of Birmingham)

(January 2022)

  • Didde Boisen Andersen (Aarhus University)
  • Anna Brinkerhoff (George Mason University)
  • Benjamin Lange (Ludwig Maximilian University Munich)
  • Laura Santi Amantini (University of Genoa)
  • William Tuckwell (University of Melbourne)

(June 2021)

(April 2021)

Doctoral Scholarships

The Society awards a limited number of doctoral scholarships each year — see Doctoral Scholarships for further details. The following candidates have received the award.

  • 2020: Daniella Meehan (University of Glasgow), Lee Wilson (University of Edinburgh), and Joshua Kelsall (University of St Andrews)
  • 2019: Joseph Bowen (University of St Andrews & University of Stirling), Korbinian Rüger (University of Oxford), and Leonie Smith (University of Manchester)
  • 2018: Adina Covaci (University of Leeds) and Pilar Lopez-Cantero (University of Manchester)
  • 2017: Benjamin Lange (University of Oxford) and Areti Theofilopoulou (University of Oxford)
  • 2016: Anthony Taylor (University of Oxford) and Constanza Porro (King’s College, London)
  • 2015: Julia Mosquera (University of Reading) and Rowan Mellor (University College, London)
  • 2014: Eliana Zur-Szpiro (University College, London) and Christine Hobden (University of Oxford)
  • 2013: Elizabeth Finneron-Burns (University of Oxford) and William MacAskill (University of Oxford)
  • 2012: Joanna Firth (University of Oxford), Chris Malone (University of Oxford), and Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield) and Guy Sela (University of Oxford)
  • 2010: Jesse Tomalty (University of St Andrews)
  • 2009: Alexandre Erler (University of Oxford)

Journal for Applied Philosophy Annual Essay Prize

The Journal of Applied Philosophy awards an annual prize of £1,000 to the best article published in the year’s volume.

SAP Annual Conference Postgraduate Essay Prize Winners

The Society awards a prize for the best postgraduate paper submitted for presentation to its annual conference.

  • 2020: Lara Jost (University of St Andrews)
  • 2019: Maria Seim (University of Oslo)
  • 2018: Costanza Porro (King’s College London)
  • 2017: Sean Sinclair (University of Leeds)
  • 2016: Faye Tucker (Lancaster University)
  • 2014: Carl Fox (University of Sheffield)
  • 2013: Susanne Burri (LSE)
  • 2012: Jonathan Parry (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Simon Cotton (Cornell University)
  • 2010: Ryan Tonkens (York University, Toronto)
  • 2009: Alexander Erler (University of Oxford)
  • 2008: Seth Lazar (University of Oxford)

30th Anniversary Post-Doctoral Fellowship

The Society awarded this fellowship to celebrate its thirtieth anniversary in 2012. The award was won by Dr Steve Cooke and undertaken at the University of Manchester. Dr Cooke investigated the ethics of using violence in defence of animals and the environment.