Previous Award Winners

Doctoral Scholarships

The Society awards a limited number of doctoral scholarships each year — see Doctoral Scholarships for further details. The following candidates have received the award.

  • 2022: Alex Fisher (University of Cambridge), Emilia Wilson (University of St Andrews), Dilara Boga (Central European University (Vienna))
  • 2021: Virginia De Biasio (University of York), Anna Milioni (King’s College London), Leora Sung (University College London)
  • 2020: Daniella Meehan (University of Glasgow), Lee Wilson (University of Edinburgh), and Joshua Kelsall (University of St Andrews)
  • 2019: Joseph Bowen (University of St Andrews & University of Stirling), Korbinian Rüger (University of Oxford), and Leonie Smith (University of Manchester)
  • 2018: Adina Covaci (University of Leeds) and Pilar Lopez-Cantero (University of Manchester)
  • 2017: Benjamin Lange (University of Oxford) and Areti Theofilopoulou (University of Oxford)
  • 2016: Anthony Taylor (University of Oxford) and Constanza Porro (King’s College, London)
  • 2015: Julia Mosquera (University of Reading) and Rowan Mellor (University College, London)
  • 2014: Eliana Zur-Szpiro (University College, London) and Christine Hobden (University of Oxford)
  • 2013: Elizabeth Finneron-Burns (University of Oxford) and William MacAskill (University of Oxford)
  • 2012: Joanna Firth (University of Oxford), Chris Malone (University of Oxford), and Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield) and Guy Sela (University of Oxford)
  • 2010: Jesse Tomalty (University of St Andrews)
  • 2009: Alexandre Erler (University of Oxford)

SAP Annual Conference

SAP Annual Conference 2024
28 – 30 June, St Anne’s College,
University of Oxford 

Join the Society

Membership of the Society is open to anyone interested in our aims, whether or not you hold a philosophical qualification or are employed as a professional philosopher.

Membership currently costs £26 per annum, or £14 for postgraduates.  This includes online access to the Journal of Applied Philosophy, as well as a reduced fee for the Society’s annual conference.   Members can also apply for event funding through the Society’s grant scheme.

Membership and journal subscription are handled by Wiley, as the publishers of the Journal of Applied Philosophy. The button will take you through to their website.

Latest News

In memoriam: Brenda Almond

The SAP is deeply saddened to hear of the death of Brenda Almond, Emeritus Professor of Moral and Social Philosophy at the University of Hull. Professor Almond co-founded the SAP with Anthony O’Hear in 1982. She devoted many years to

Read More »

SAP sponsored event: Coercing For Health workshop

July 03, 2024 9:00am — July 04, 2024 5:00pm Contact: Tess Johnson for more information. Click here to Register   Coercing For Health: Transdisciplinary approaches to the ethics of coercive public health policies Understanding coercion has long been a central concern of analytical, political, and moral philosophy. COVID-19 and other public

Read More »

Society for Applied Philosophy Annual Conference 2024

The Society’s 2024 conference will take place at St Anne’s College, Oxford 28 – 30 June. Papers will be given on a wide range of topics across the field of applied philosophy (Authors of papers selected for inclusion in the programme can confirm or decline intention to attend here.) Call

Read More »