Previous Award Winners

Short-term Postdoctoral Research Grants 2021

The following scholars received short-term postdoctoral research grants in 2021–22:

(April 2022)

(January 2022)

(June 2021)

(April 2021)

Doctoral Scholarships

The Society awards a limited number of doctoral scholarships each year — see Doctoral Scholarships for further details. The following candidates have received the award.

  • 2022: Alex Fisher (University of Cambridge), Emilia Wilson (University of St Andrews), Dilara Boga (Central European University (Vienna))
  • 2021: Virginia De Biasio (University of York), Anna Milioni (King’s College London), Leora Sung (University College London)
  • 2020: Daniella Meehan (University of Glasgow), Lee Wilson (University of Edinburgh), and Joshua Kelsall (University of St Andrews)
  • 2019: Joseph Bowen (University of St Andrews & University of Stirling), Korbinian Rüger (University of Oxford), and Leonie Smith (University of Manchester)
  • 2018: Adina Covaci (University of Leeds) and Pilar Lopez-Cantero (University of Manchester)
  • 2017: Benjamin Lange (University of Oxford) and Areti Theofilopoulou (University of Oxford)
  • 2016: Anthony Taylor (University of Oxford) and Constanza Porro (King’s College, London)
  • 2015: Julia Mosquera (University of Reading) and Rowan Mellor (University College, London)
  • 2014: Eliana Zur-Szpiro (University College, London) and Christine Hobden (University of Oxford)
  • 2013: Elizabeth Finneron-Burns (University of Oxford) and William MacAskill (University of Oxford)
  • 2012: Joanna Firth (University of Oxford), Chris Malone (University of Oxford), and Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield) and Guy Sela (University of Oxford)
  • 2010: Jesse Tomalty (University of St Andrews)
  • 2009: Alexandre Erler (University of Oxford)

Journal for Applied Philosophy Annual Essay Prize

The Journal of Applied Philosophy awards an annual prize of £1,000 to the best article published in the year’s volume.

SAP Annual Conference Postgraduate Essay Prize Winners

The Society awards a prize for the best postgraduate paper submitted for presentation to its annual conference.

  • 2023: Emilia Wilson (University of St Andrews)
  • 2022: Avital Fried (University of Oxford)
  • 2021: (no award made)
  • 2020: Lara Jost (University of St Andrews)
  • 2019: Maria Seim (University of Oslo)
  • 2018: Costanza Porro (King’s College London)
  • 2017: Sean Sinclair (University of Leeds)
  • 2016: Faye Tucker (Lancaster University)
  • 2014: Carl Fox (University of Sheffield)
  • 2013: Susanne Burri (LSE)
  • 2012: Jonathan Parry (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Simon Cotton (Cornell University)
  • 2010: Ryan Tonkens (York University, Toronto)
  • 2009: Alexander Erler (University of Oxford)
  • 2008: Seth Lazar (University of Oxford)

30th Anniversary Post-Doctoral Fellowship

The Society awarded this fellowship to celebrate its thirtieth anniversary in 2012. The award was won by Dr Steve Cooke and undertaken at the University of Manchester. Dr Cooke investigated the ethics of using violence in defence of animals and the environment. 

SAP Annual Conference

SAP Annual Conference 2024
28 – 30 June, St Anne’s College,
University of Oxford 

Join the Society

Membership of the Society is open to anyone interested in our aims, whether or not you hold a philosophical qualification or are employed as a professional philosopher.

Membership currently costs £26 per annum, or £14 for postgraduates.  This includes online access to the Journal of Applied Philosophy, as well as a reduced fee for the Society’s annual conference.   Members can also apply for event funding through the Society’s grant scheme.

Membership and journal subscription are handled by Wiley, as the publishers of the Journal of Applied Philosophy. The button will take you through to their website.

Latest News

In memoriam: Brenda Almond

The SAP is deeply saddened to hear of the death of Brenda Almond, Emeritus Professor of Moral and Social Philosophy at the University of Hull. Professor Almond co-founded the SAP with Anthony O’Hear in 1982. She devoted many years to

Read More »

SAP sponsored event: Coercing For Health workshop

July 03, 2024 9:00am — July 04, 2024 5:00pm Contact: Tess Johnson for more information. Click here to Register   Coercing For Health: Transdisciplinary approaches to the ethics of coercive public health policies Understanding coercion has long been a central concern of analytical, political, and moral philosophy. COVID-19 and other public

Read More »

Society for Applied Philosophy Annual Conference 2024

The Society’s 2024 conference will take place at St Anne’s College, Oxford 28 – 30 June. Papers will be given on a wide range of topics across the field of applied philosophy (Authors of papers selected for inclusion in the programme can confirm or decline intention to attend here.) Call

Read More »