Doctoral Scholarships

The SAP awards up to two doctoral scholarships in each year subject to a suitable candidate coming forward (see Doctoral Scholarships for further details).

The following candidates have received the award:

  • 2016: Anthony Taylor (University of Oxford); and Constanza Porro (King's College, London)
  • 2015: Julia Mosquera (University of Reading); and Rowan Mellor (University College, London)
  • 2014: Eliana Zur-Szpiro (University College, London); and Christine Hobden (University of Oxford)
  • 2013: Elizabeth Finneron-Burns (University of Oxford); and William MacAskill (University of Oxford)
  • 2012: Joanna Firth (University of Oxford); Chris Malone (University of Oxford); and Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield)
  • 2011: Natasha McKeever (University of Sheffield); and Guy Sela (University of Oxford)
  • 2010: Jesse Tomalty (University of St Andrews)
  • 2009: Alexandre Erler (University of Oxford)

Journal for Applied Philosophy Annual Essay Prize

The Journal of Applied Philosophy awards an annual prize of £1000 to the best article published in the year’s volume. (N.B. the Society for Applied Philosophy annual lecture, also published in the Journal, will not be eligible for the prize of best article.)

    Essay Prize Winners

30th Anniversary Post-Doctoral Fellowship

To celebrate its 30th anniversary, the Society for Applied Philosophy has awarded a Post-Doctoral Fellowship tenable for one-year in association with a UK Philosophy Department.  The award holder was selected after an open call for proposals.

Dr. Steve Cooke has been selected for the award and will conduct research at the University of Manchester which investigates the the problem of single-issue political violence carried out in the name of animals and the environment.

Login Area

Site Login Box


Contact SAP

  • S.A.P.
  • C/o Jon Cameron
  • Taylor Building
  • University of Aberdeen
  • AB24 3UB, UK            
  • Email:

Newsletter Sign Up Area