About society

The Journal of Applied Philosophy is owned by the Society for Applied Philosophy. The Society for Applied Philosophy was founded in 1982 with the aim of promoting philosophical study and research that has a direct bearing on areas of practical concern. It arose from an increasing awareness that many topics of public debate are capable of being illuminated by the critical, analytic approach characteristic of philosophy, and by direct consideration of questions of value. These topics come from a number of different areas of social life - law, politics, economics, science, technology, medicine and education are among the most obvious. The purpose of the SAP is foster and promote philosophical work that is intended to make a constructive contribution to problems in these areas. It does so by funding and supporting workshops, conferences, lecture programmes, graduate bursaries, and via the Journal of Applied Philosophy.

In accordance with its constitution, the SAP is not allied to the ideology of any political party, social interest group, campaign or religion. Membership is open to anyone committed to the notion of human values that transcend narrow or local interests, classes and cultures, and to the identification, justification and discussion of these values as they apply to topics of public importance.

The Journal of Applied Philosophy, published by Wiley on behalf of the Society is now well established as a major source of high quality work in this area. It publishes work from across the world on all topics falling under the label 'applied philosophy', broadly interpreted. The JAP is a refereed journal edited by Christopher Bennett (University of Sheffield) with the assistance of five Associate Editors and an International Advisory Board made up of the leading experts in the field.


Onora O'Neill, University of Cambridge

Brenda Almond

David Archard, Queen's University, Belfast

Neil Manson, University of Lancaster

Honorary Secretary
Massimo Renzo, Kings College London

Honorary Treasurer
Garrath Williams, University of Lancaster

SAP Executive Committee

Ordinary members:

Thomas Douglas, University of Oxford
Helen Frowe, Stockholm University
Mari Mikkola, Humboldt University of Berlin
Serena Olsaretti, ICREA-Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Maria Paola Ferretti, University of Oxford
Peter Schaber, University of Zurich

Co-opted members:

Elizabeth Brake, Arizona State University [Editor, Journal of Applied Philosophy]
Jonathan Cameron, University of Aberdeen [Society Administrator]
Dana Kay Nelkin, University of California, San Diego [North American representative]
Daniel Halliday, University of Melbourne [Australasian representative]

Login Area

Site Login Box


Contact SAP

  • S.A.P.
  • C/o Jon Cameron
  • Taylor Building
  • University of Aberdeen
  • AB24 3UB, UK            
  • Email:

Newsletter Sign Up Area